Governing Board Staff

Comprised of emerging leaders from across the Ohio & Erie Canalway, our associate board is dedicated to learning more about the National Heritage Area and helping it grow. Established in 2014, the associate board has worked on various volunteer and trail improvement projects while supporting the Ohio & Erie Canalway. Key involvement includes:

  • Leading a project committee to develop Towpath Trail underpasses through Akron as part of iTowpath.

  • Forming teams as participants in the annual Huntington Towpath Century Ride.

  • Volunteering for and gathering additional volunteers for events, programs, trail projects, and cleanups.

See below for a list of current associate board members.

Board Members

Melinda Chase, Co-Chair
Hammontree & Associates

James Panezott, Co-Chair 
Davey Tree Resource Group

Carly Hamerstone, Secretary 
Westfield Insurance

Hilary Ayers-Kurtz
The JM Smucker Company

Justin Bahil

Catey Breck
City of Akron

Donald Dumford
Cleveland Clinic Akron General

Daniel Glass
Thompson Hine

Summer Hall
City of Akron

Steven Kolarik
Environmental Design Group, Inc.

Kyle Lukes
Environmental Design Group, Inc.

Jen Meade
Knight Foundation, The Well CDC

Andrew Novak
Summit Sports & Social

Erin Patch
Dominion Energy

Cassie Primm 
Akron Public Schools

Sean Riffle
ms consultants

Theresa Taras
GPD Group

Dean Wolosiansky
Lindsay Precast